Electoral Board


As provided for in section 24.2-106 of the Code of Virginia, Botetourt County's Electoral Board is comprised of three members, qualified voters of the County, serving staggered three-year terms. Members are nominated by the respective party and appointed by the chief judge of the judicial circuit for the County.  Two members represent the party occupying the Governor's office and the third member represents the party with the next highest number of votes for Governor at the last preceding gubernatorial election. The Board is responsible for the appointment and supervision of the Director of Elections and General Registrar,  oversight of the election process and ascertainment of election results.


The Electoral Board is required to hold meetings based on the requirements stated in Code of Virginia 24.2-107. The Canvass of Votes is held the day after an election and other meetings are held as needed throughout the year.  Notices for upcoming meetings can be found on the Events Calendar on the homepage of the County's website.  Meetings Calendar

Agendas & Minutes

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • John W. Rader, Jr., (R) Chairman
    Term Expires December 31, 2024
  • Edward W. Clark, Jr., (R) Vice-Chairman
    Term Expires December 31, 2025
  • William L. "Buck" Heartwell, III, (D) Secretary
    Term Expires December 31, 2023